Denver Broncos | News

Justin Simmons named 2019 recipient of Darrent Williams Good Guy Award


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Denver Broncos safety Justin Simmons on Friday will be presented with the 13th Annual Darrent Williams Good Guy Award, as selected by the team's local media.

The award was created in memory of former Broncos cornerback Darrent Williams, who passed away on Jan. 1, 2007, after completing his second season with the team. The award is given annually to the Bronco who best exemplifies Williams' enthusiasm, cooperation and honesty while dealing with members of the press.

"In what has been a difficult season for the Broncos on the field, Justin was the winner of this award by perhaps the largest voting margin since we first presented it in 2007," said ESPN Senior Writer Jeff Legwold. "He was cited, over and over again, for his unwavering professionalism both after wins or losses, as well as the willingness to offer opinions at every opportunity that were thoughtful and refreshingly candid.''

Just the second two-time winner of the award, Simmons was also recognized by the Broncos' local media in 2017. Other players who received significant consideration for this year's honor include cornerback Chris Harris Jr., defensive lineman Shelby Harris, outside linebacker Von Miller and rookie guard Dalton Risner.

"I first just want to say thank you," Simmons said Friday. "I think I said it the last time — not last year, but the year before — I don't take this for granted. This is something that I hold near and dear to my heart. I think with all things being said, having a tough season is one thing and then having to report on it isn't always easy. [I'm] just trying to be there and answer questions to the best of my ability. Just doing that consistently and not even thinking in the back of my mind about anything in return for that. I just really appreciate the recognition from it. Obviously, what Darrent stood for and who he was as a person, this award is held in high regard in my eyes. I can't thank you guys enough for that."


Table inside Article
Year Player
2007 John Lynch
2008 Ebenezer Ekuban
2009 Elvis Dumervil
2010 Mario Haggan
2011 Champ Bailey
2012 Wesley Woodyard
2013 Chris Harris Jr.
2014 Terrance Knighton
2015 Brandon Marshall
2016 DeMarcus Ware
2017 Justin Simmons
2018 Chris Harris Jr.
2019 Justin Simmons

Related Content