Denver Broncos | News

Jeff Heuerman named Broncos' 2018 Ed Block Courage Award recipient


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Denver Broncos have selected tight end Jeff Heuerman as their 2018 Ed Block Courage Award winner, it was announced in a team meeting on Friday.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Heuerman was selected for the award by his teammates for his toughness in overcoming injuries while remaining team focused and passionate about the game.

The fourth-year tight end started 10-of-11 games played in 2018 and ranked third on the team with 31 receptions for 281 yards (9.1 avg.) with two touchdowns before sustaining fractured ribs and a bruised lung against Pittsburgh in Week 12. In addition to missing his entire rookie season in 2015 with a torn ACL, Heuerman has also battled through knee and ankle injuries the last few seasons.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.

The 40th Ed Block Courage Awards recognizing recipients from each of the 32 NFL teams will be held at the Renaissance Hotel-Inner Harbor in Baltimore on Saturday, March 9.


1984: Keith Bishop
1985: Rulon Jones
1986: Rubin Carter
1987: Dennis Smith
1988: Gerald Wilhite
1989: Rick Dennison
1990: Keith Kartz
1991: John Elway
1992: Dennis Smith
1993: Simon Fletcher
1994: Rondel Jones
1995: Dave Wyman
1996: Ed McCaffrey
1997: Steve Atwater
1998: Tony Jones
1999: Rod Smith
2000: John Mobley
2001: Terrell Davis
2002: John Mobley
2003: Tom Nalen
2004: Dan Neil
2005: Dwayne Carswell
2006: Louis Green
2007: John Engelberger
2008: Marquand Manuel
2009: Brian Dawkins
2010: Ryan Clady
2011: Elvis Dumervil
2012: Chris Kuper
2013: Knowshon Moreno
2014: Chris Harris Jr.
2015: Brandon Marshall/Danny Trevathan
2016: Matt Paradis
2017: Todd Davis
2018: Jeff Heuerman

Related Content