Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Steve Atwater elected to Southwest Conference Hall of Fame

His wait for the Pro Football Hall of Fame may continue, but Ring of Fame safety Steve Atwater will join the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame in the fall as the conference honors him for his standout collegiate career with the Arkansas Razorbacks.

His induction, along with that of eight other inductees, will be made official on Sept. 10 on TCU's campus in Fort Worth, Texas.

During Arkansas' years in the SWC, which ended in 1991 when the Razorbacks moved to the SEC, Atwater was a letter-winner from 1985-88 and a two-time All-SWC selection (1986 and 1988), helping his teams to a 38-11 record. At an individual level, Atwater recorded 14 career interceptions, a university record that still stands today.

"Steve Atwater has long been a Razorback football legend and soon he will be a member of the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame," University of Arkansas Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Hunter Yurachek said in a press release. "He helped lead Arkansas to a conference championship and four bowl games before going on to an outstanding NFL career. We look forward to celebrating with Steve and his family in September as he is honored as one of the best to ever compete in the Southwest Conference."

Following that impressive career, Atwater was selected by the Broncos in the 1989 NFL Draft with the 20th-overall pick, which sparked an outstanding 10-year stint with the Broncos that included back-to-back Super Bowl victories, three Super Bowl appearances, two first-team All-Pro selections, eight Pro Bowls and many more memorable moments. After retiring from the NFL, Atwater was inducted into the Broncos Ring of Fame in 2005 and has been a a semifinalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame seven times and a finalist once.

Atwater was also inducted into the University of Arkansas Sports Hall of Honor in 1998 and into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame in 2002, named to Arkansas' all-century team and the 1980-89 all-decade team and received numerous other accolades.

Related Content