Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Pat Surtain II nominated by Broncos for 2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Rookie cornerback Pat Surtain II has been announced as the Broncos' nominee for the 2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which honors players who display tremendous character on the field.

Each NFL team nominates one player for the annual award, which was first given out after the 2014 season. Surtain is the only rookie to be nominated.

Former NFL players Warrick Dunn, Larry Fitzgerald, Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler will select eight finalists, and current players will vote to decide the winner. Players cannot vote for someone from their own team, and each team's players will decide on a consensus vote for the winner.

"The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition," the NFL wrote in a press release.

In past years, the Broncos have nominated Bryce Callahan (2020), Von Miller (2019 and 2017), Domata Peko Sr. (2018), DeMarcus Ware (2016 and 2014) and Demaryius Thomas (2015).

Broncos quarterback Teddy Bridgewater won the award in 2020 as a member of the Carolina Panthers.

Related Content