Denver Broncos | News

Justin Simmons becomes first three-time recipient of Darrent Williams Good Guy Award


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Denver Broncos safety Justin Simmons on Wednesday will be presented with the 14th Annual Darrent Williams Good Guy Award, as selected by the team's local media.

The award was created in memory of former Broncos cornerback Darrent Williams, who passed away on Jan. 1, 2007, after completing his second season with the team. The award is given annually to the Bronco who best exemplifies Williams' enthusiasm, cooperation and honesty while dealing with members of the press.

The first three-time winner of the award, Simmons was also recognized by the Broncos' local media in 2017 and '19. Other players who received significant consideration for this year's honor include guard Dalton Risner and safety Kareem Jackson.

"In what was, again, one of the widest voting margins we have had over the last 14 years, Justin has broken new ground given not only is he the first back-to-back winner since the first time we presented the award in 2007, Justin is also now the first three-time winner," ESPN Senior Writer Jeff Legwold said. "He was repeatedly singled out, in this unique season, for the consistent quality and breadth of his answers on a wide variety of topics, both on and off the field."

"I congratulate Justin on this tremendous accomplishment, especially for a third time," Denver Broncos Ring of Famer, former teammate of Williams & the first recipient of the Darrent Williams Good Guy Award John Lynch said. "Darrent certainly was everything this award represents, a guy who kept every day fun, who had a great smile, a great energy about him, a great energy about life. Some people take energy out of a building, Darrent brought it in with him, every day, and it was a pleasure just to be around Darrent every day. I remember those times all the time. We lost Darrent way too early, but this award, hopefully, helps people remember him and I know it was an honor for me as well."

All-time Darrent Williams Good Guy Award Winners

Table inside Article
2007John Lynch
2008Ebenezer Ekuban
2009Elvis Dumervil
2010Mario Haggan
2011Champ Bailey
2012Wesley Woodyard
2013Chris Harris Jr.
2014Terrance Knighton
2015Brandon Marshall
2016DeMarcus Ware
2017Justin Simmons
2018Chris Harris Jr. 
2019Justin Simmons
2020Justin Simmons

Related Content