Denver Broncos | News

Broncos Draft History: Specialists

As we begin to wrap up the preview of the specialists available in the 2013 NFL Draft, let's take a look back at who the Broncos have drafted at those positions.

Player:Jason Elam
Year Drafted:1993
Round:3b - 70 Overall

Broncos Career:For 15 seasons, Elam handled the kicking duties for the Broncos and rewrote the record book. A three-time Pro Bowler, Elam made 371 consecutive extra points, which is a franchise and NFL record. In 1998, Elam tied an NFL record 63-yard field goal against the Jaguars. He was named to the team's 50th Anniversary Team in 2009.

Player:Luke Prestridge
Year Drafted:1979
Round:7 - 188 Overall

Broncos Career:Drafted in the seventh round of the 1979 NFL Draft, Prestridge served as the Broncos punter for five seasons. In 1982, Prestridge averaged 45.0 yards per punt and earned his only Pro Bowl nod. He concluded his NFL career in 1984 as a member of the New England Patriots.

Here are some other specialists drafted:

20057239Paul ErnsterNorthern Arizona
20014b120Nick HarrisCalifornia
19967d236Brian GragertWyoming
197912325David JacobsSyracuse
19777185Larry SwiderPittsburgh
197615418Wilbur SummersLouisville
197117425Jack SimcsakVirginia Tech
197015375Maher BarakatSouth Dakota Tech
197017427Frank KalfossMontana State
196616N/AFrank RogersColorado

Related Content