Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Chris Harris Jr. named 2018 recipient of Darrent Williams Good Guy Award 

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Denver Broncos cornerback Chris Harris Jr. on Friday will be presented with the 12th Annual Darrent Williams Good Guy Award, as selected by the team's local media.

The award was created in memory of former Broncos cornerback Darrent Williams, who passed away on Jan. 1, 2007, after completing his second season with the team. The award is given annually to the Bronco who best exemplifies Williams' enthusiasm, cooperation and honesty while dealing with members of the press.

"Chris was consistently praised for his professionalism, accountability and his willingness to provide clear, honest answers to the questions he was asked and he did so after wins, losses and in the days in between," said ESPN senior writer Jeff Legwold. "This is the fifth time a defensive back has won the award, the second time Chris has won the award, and there may be no better measures of at least part of the legacy Darrent left behind."

The only two-time winner of the award, Harris Jr. was also recognized by the Broncos' local media in 2013. Other players who received significant consideration for this year's honor include linebackers Todd Davis, Brandon Marshall and Von Miller, along with kicker Brandon McManus, nose tackle Domata Peko Sr. and safety Justin Simmons.


Table inside Article
Year Player
2007 John Lynch
2008 Ebenezer Ekuban
2009 Elvis Dumervil
2010 Mario Haggan
2011 Champ Bailey
2012 Wesley Woodyard
2013 Chris Harris Jr.
2014 Terrance Knighton
2015 Brandon Marshall
2016 DeMarcus Ware
2017 Justin Simmons
2018 Chris Harris Jr.

Related Content