Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Champ Bailey headlines list of Broncos named modern-era semifinalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — In his first year of eligibility, former Broncos cornerback Champ Bailey has been named a modern-era semifinalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019, the Hall of Fame announced Tuesday. 

Former Broncos Steve Atwater, Ty Law, John Lynch and Karl Mecklenburg also made the 25-player cut from the initial list of 102 modern-era nominees.

Atwater and Mecklenburg have now been named semifinalists on eight occasions, Lynch (7) and Law (5) have also represented the Broncos at the semifinalist stage on several occasions.

Atwater, Lynch and Mecklenburg are all Broncos Ring of Famers. Bailey is not yet eligible for induction.

The Hall of Fame will trim the list to 15 finalists ahead of the final vote on the eve of Super Bowl LIII (Feb. 2).

Broncos Owner Pat Bowlen was selected as a Hall of Fame finalist by the Contributors Committee in August, and he will also be eligible for election during February's vote.

John Elway (2004), tackle Gary Zimmerman (2008), running back Floyd Little (2010), tight end Shannon Sharpe (2011) and running back Terrell Davis (2017) currently represent the Broncos in the Hall of Fame.  

The Broncos also celebrated former safety Brian Dawkins' induction into the Hall of Fame in August. Dawkins spent 2009-11 in Denver.

Related Content