Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Six-year induction streak ends as Broncos choose not to elect new member to Ring of Fame in 2018


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — For the first time since 2011, the Broncos will go a year without inducting a new member into its Ring of Fame.

Over the last six years, the Broncos' Ring of Fame committee voted to induct 10 new members to the now 32-person Ring of Fame.

That six-year induction streak — which has only been matched by the ROF's opening six years — came to an end Thursday, when the Broncos' six-person committee voted not to elect any new members in 2018.

This year marks the 15th occasion since 1984, when Owner Pat Bowlen created the Ring of Fame, that no new members were elected.

Former head coach Red Miller was the lone inductee in 2017, but the Ring of Fame should gain a few new faces in the coming years.

Cornerback Champ Bailey will be up for election in 2019, and former quarterback Peyton Manning could be inducted as early as 2021.

This year's decision also does not preclude any former greats — both players and coaches — from being given strong consideration in the future.

Denver honors its Ring of Fame members with eight-foot bronze and steel pillars in the Ring of Fame Plaza at Sports Authority Field at Mile High. Their names and numbers — or other affiliation — also encircle the interior of the stadium.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content