Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Broncos sign 15 players to practice squad


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — A day after finalizing their initial 53-man roster, the Broncos on Sunday signed 15 players to their practice squad.

Denver signed QB Brett Rypien, WR Trinity Benson, WR Fred Brown, OL Patrick Morris, T Quinn Bailey, T Darrin Paulo, T Jake Rodgers, RB LeVante Bellamy, RB Jeremy Cox, OLB Derrek Tuszka, LB Josh Watson, S Alijah Holder, S P.J. Locke, CB De'Vante Bausby and DL DeShawn Williams to the practice squad.

All 15 players competed with the Broncos during training camp, and several — including Brown, Morris, Rodgers, Watson, Holder and Bausby — have appeared in regular-season games for the team. Rypien also spent time on the active roster in 2019.

Tuszka, a seventh-round pick from the 2020 NFL Draft, is among the team's rookies to make the practice squad.

The Broncos are eligible to add one more player to the practice squad.

Under the new rules of the collective bargaining agreement, NFL teams can protect four members of their practice squad each week to prevent opposing teams from signing them to their own active roster.

Additionally, teams can designate two players per week to join their active rosters on game day. Game-day rosters can increase from 46 to 48 players under the new collective bargaining agreement. If a player on the practice squad is elevated to the game-day roster, they are not subect to waivers to return to the practice squad.

Related Content