Denver Broncos | News

Andy Janovich named Broncos' 2019 Ed Block Courage Award recipient


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Denver Broncos have selected fullback Andy Janovich as their 2019 Ed Block Courage Award winner, it was announced in a team meeting on Friday.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Janovich was selected for the award by his teammates for his toughness in overcoming injuries in training camp and remaining team focused after suffering a season-ending injury in Week 11.

"It's pretty special that everybody on the team looks at me like that," Janovich said Friday. "That they don't look at me as a — how do I word this? — as a jerk, I guess, and that I'm well respected. It's a pretty cool thing."

Selected by Denver in the sixth round of the 2016 NFL Draft (176th overall), Janovich played seven games (3 starts) this season and contributed one rushing score to go along with five receptions for 42 yards (8.4 avg.). He made his regular-season debut in Week 4 after recovering from a pectoral injury that held him out of most of training camp and the final three preseason games.

Following a season-ending elbow injury sustained in Week 11, Janovich continued to show great character and leadership by remaining a positive member of the team and in the training room.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.

The 42nd Ed Block Courage Awards recognizing recipients from each of the 32 NFL teams will be held at the Renaissance Hotel-Inner Harbor in Baltimore on Saturday, March 28.


Table inside Article
Year Player Year Player Year Player
1984 Keith Bishop 1997 Steve Atwater 2010 Ryan Clady
1985 Rulon Jones 1998 Tony Jones 2011 Elvis Dumervil
1986 Rubin Carter 1999 Rod Smith 2012 Chris Kuper
1987 Dennis Smith 2000 John Mobley 2013 Knowshon Moreno
1988 Gerald Wilhite 2001 Terrell Davis 2014 Chris Harris Jr.
1989 Rick Dennison 2002 Keith Burns 2015 Brandon Marshall/Danny Trevathan
1990 Keith Kartz 2003 Tom Nalen 2016 Matt Paradis
1991 John Elway 2004 Dan Neil 2017 Todd Davis
1992 Dennis Smith 2005 Dwayne Carswell 2018 Jeff Heuerman
1993 Simon Fletcher 2006 Louis Green 2019 Andy Janovich
1994 Rondel Jones 2007 John Engelberger
1995 Dave Wyman 2008 Marquand Manuel
1996 Ed McCaffrey 2009 Brian Dawkins

Related Content