Advertising

Get to know DBC Gioia

BASICS:

Tenure: Fifth year

Hometown: Tampa, FL

College: University of Central Florida – Go Knights!

Occupation: Social Media Specialist and Dance Studio Owner

Nickname: G

Zodiac sign: Aquarius

FAVORITES:

Movie: It’s a toss-up between "Ace Ventura: Pet Detective" and "Remember the Titans."

TV Show: "Gilmore Girls"

Song to dance to: Anything with a groovy beat!

Junk food: Chips and Salsa (especially from El Camino)

Dream car: My current car! Navy two-door Jeep Wrangler

Color: Blue

Holiday: My Birthday and Thanksgiving

Animal: Lemur

Former Broncos Player: "The Franchise," Floyd Little

Place to vacation: Maui

Disney movie: "The Lion King"

Quote: "People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel." –Maya Angelou

GET TO KNOW DBC GIOIA:

What does being a DBC mean to you? Being a DBC means having the unique opportunity to make a difference in people’s lives and in our community. It means bringing a smile to each person that you meet, while being your best self in everything that you do. It means representing our Denver Broncos, as well as Mr. B’s legacy of excellence, both on and off the field.

Who is your inspiration? My parents are my inspiration! My dad played in the NFL, and showed me that you can’t beat hard work and resilience. My mom cheered in the NFL, and showed me that you should chase your passions. These two raised me to love the game of football and dancing. They chose to make their dreams a reality — and inspired me to do the same!

Tell us about the first concert you've ever been to. My mom picked me up from dance practice and surprised me with tickets to see my beloved Backstreet Boys in concert! It was pretty life changing for my tween self... I’ve loved live music ever since!

What is your biggest fear? Losing my eyesight. I can’t even wear contacts.

What habit would you most like to break? Drinking too much coffee! I am addicted.

Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Extrovert.

What was your first job? I worked for the YMCA! I taught gymnastics and dance classes, hosted birthday parties, supervised a rock wall and was a summer camp counselor.

What’s up next on your Bucket List? The second of the Seven Summits! I recently climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro in Africa. I want to bag Carstensz Pyramid in Papua or Mt. Elbrus in Russia next.

When was the last time you did something you were afraid of? I’m all for an adrenaline rush. I recently visited Hawaii and surfed in a pretty well-known area with a lot of sharks at sunset. Luckily, I didn’t encounter any sharks, just a sea turtle!

What is your dream vacation destination? Italy! I would love to experience the history and culture (and food) of where my family is from.

Any hidden talents or tricks you can do? I’m learning to play the ukulele. Does that count?

Do you have any pets? Yes! I have a black lab, Denver.

When did you first start dancing/cheerleading? I started dancing when I was 3 years old. I took a brief hiatus to play volleyball and run track, but I loved performing too much and had to return to the stage!

Describe yourself in four words. Adventurous, Driven, Spontaneous, Compassionate.

If you could have a superpower, what would it be? Teleportation! Imagine all of the places you could go! Or, the ability to talk to dogs. I wish I knew what Denver was thinking!

In 10 years I see myself... Living in the mountains and successfully running my own dance studio. Or maybe climbing Mount Everest… It’s a toss up!

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? An astronaut. The concept of space and our universe is mind blowing. Plus, I love exploring!

What advice would you give your younger self? Don’t feel pressured to live your life the way other people want you to. Do what makes you happy and what makes the world a better place!

Advertising