Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Von Miller named one of eight unanimous selections to NFL's 2010s All-Decade Team


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — There was no doubt.

Outside linebacker Von Miller was one of eight unanimous selections to the NFL's 2010s All-Decade Team, which was announced Monday.

Tackle Joe Thomas, guard Marshal Yanda, quarterback Tom Brady, running back Adrian Peterson, defensive end J.J. Watt, defensive tackle Aaron Donald and kicker Justin Tucker were the other unanimous selections.

The 55-member team, which includes Bill Belichick and Pete Carroll as coaches, was voted on by the Pro Football Hall of Fame's selection committee.

Former Bronco Chris Harris Jr. also made the team as a defensive back. Harris earned four Pro Bowl appearances and one first-team All-Pro nod during nine years in Denver.

Miller, who played the first nine years of his career during the previous decade, was one of six linebackers selected to the team. Chandler Jones, Luke Kuechly, Khalil Mack, Bobby Wagner and Patrick Willis also made the cut.

The second-overall pick in 2011, Miller has recorded three first-team All-Pro selections, eight Pro Bowl nods and 106 regular-season sacks during his career in Denver. He was also the NFL's 2011 Defensive Rookie of the Year and has recorded double-digit sacks in seven of his nine seasons.

Since stats became an official stat in 1982, Miller ranks fifth in NFL history for the most sacks in a decade, including the postseason. His 112.5 sacks trail only Bruce Smith (124.5), Derrick Thomas (123.0), Reggie White (121.5) and Kevin Greene (115.0). No player had more sacks during the previous decade than Miller, who began his career in 2011.

Miller is also the only player from the 2010s to record at least 200 quarterback hits and 25 forced fumbles.

And, of course, Miller delivered his most impressive performance during Super Bowl 50, when he tallied 2.5 sacks and two forced fumbles to earn MVP honors.

Quarterback Peyton Manning and outside linebacker DeMarcus Ware, who were among Miller's teammates in Super Bowl 50, were not selected for the 2010s All-Decade Team.

Manning played five seasons last decade, earning four Pro Bowl appearances, two first-team All-Pro nods and an MVP trophy while leading the Broncos to two Super Bowls. Aaron Rodgers joined Brady as the team's other quarterback.

Ware, meanwhile, played seven seasons during the previous decade and made five Pro Bowls and earned one first-team All-Pro selection. He recorded 74 regular-season sacks during the decade.

Both Ware and Miller were named finalists for the NFL 100 All-Time Team in 2019. Manning was named to that team.

Players were eligible for the team if they received Pro Bowl, All-Pro or all-conference honors from 2010-19.

Cornerback Champ Bailey represented the Broncos on the 2000s All-Decade team. Ty Law and Brian Dawkins also briefly played for Denver during that decade and made the team.

Related Content