Denver Broncos | News

Brandon Marshall, Danny Trevathan named Broncos 2015 Ed Block Courage Award Recipients


ENGLEWOOD, Colo.** — The Denver Broncos have selected starting inside linebackers Brandon Marshall and Danny Trevathan as their 2015 Ed Block Courage Award winners, it was announced.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

Marshall and Trevathan both overcame significant injuries that required surgery in the offseason and combined to start 31-of-32 possible games while finishing as the team's top two leading tacklers in 2015.

"That's awesome," Head Coach Gary Kubiak said. "Throughout the course of the offseason and the plan that [Head Athletic Trainer Steve] 'Greek' [Antonopulos] had in place to get those guys through the season and the job that they did, and they've been there every snap this year and played extremely well. I've been around that award; it's a very prestigious award and to have two players that were that close or that deserving is something special, so I'm proud of both them."

Marshall, who underwent Lisfranc surgery following the 2014 season, opened all 16 regular-season games for the Broncos in the regular season and topped the 100-tackle mark (101) for the second consecutive year to rank second on the team in that category. He also added 1.5 sacks (10.5 yds.), nine tackles for a loss, four passes defensed and two forced fumbles.

"It means a lot, because we both went through tremendous injuries and we both came back," Marshall said. "We worked hard, we rehabbed hard and we dedicated ourselves to getting back and being ready for this team. I thought we both had a pretty good year, and I think that just shows how hard we work and how much we believe."

Trevathan, who played only three games in 2014, had reconstructive surgery on his kneecap during the offseason. He returned this year to start 15 games and lead the Broncos with 110 tackles (74 solo) to go along with two interceptions (39 yds.) and six passes defensed.

"After going through an intense offseason, undergoing surgery and going into the situation I was in, to have somebody go with me and be strong through it, it's a characteristic not really found in a lot of people, and for both of us to come out on top, it feels good to get this award," Trevathan said.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.