Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Todd Davis named Broncos' 2017 Ed Block Courage Award recipient


ENGLEWOOD, Colo.— The Denver Broncos have selected inside linebackerTodd Davis **as their 2017 Ed Block Courage Award winner, it was announced in a team meeting on Friday.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.


Davis battled through injuries this season to start all 13 games he played and rank second on the team with 78 tackles (48 solo). A college free agent from Sacramento State University who was claimed off waivers from New Orleans midway through his rookie season in 2014, he has worked his way into the Broncos starting lineup the past two seasons through hard work and perseverance.

Davis was selected by his teammates for serving as an inspiration in the locker room, maintaining a positive work ethic and showing tremendous character on and off the field. 

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.  

The 40th Ed Block Courage Awards recognizing recipients from each of the 32 NFL teams will be held at the Renaissance Hotel-Inner Harbor in Baltimore on Saturday, March 9.


1984: Keith Bishop
1985: Rulon Jones
1986: Rubin Carter
1987: Dennis Smith
1988: Gerald Wilhite
1989: Rick Dennison
1990: Keith Kartz
1991: John Elway
1992: Dennis Smith
1993: Simon Fletcher
1994: Rondel Jones
1995: Dave Wyman
1996: Ed McCaffrey
1997: Steve Atwater
1998: Tony Jones
1999: Rod Smith
2000: John Mobley
2001: Terrell Davis
2002: John Mobley
2003: Tom Nalen
2004: Dan Neil
2005: Dwayne Carswell
2006: Louis Green
2007: John Engelberger
2008: Marquand Manuel
2009: Brian Dawkins
2010: Ryan Clady
2011: Elvis Dumervil
2012: Chris Kuper
2013: Knowshon Moreno
2014: Chris Harris Jr.
2015: Brandon Marshall/Danny Trevathan
2016: Matt Paradis
2017: Todd Davis

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.