Denver Broncos | News

Bradley Chubb named Broncos' 2020 Ed Block Courage Award recipient 


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Denver Broncos have selected outside linebacker Bradley Chubb as their 2020 Ed Block Courage Award winner, it was announced in a team meeting on Thursday.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

Chubb was selected by his teammates for his approach and dedication to the rehab process after suffering a season-ending knee injury on Sept. 29, 2019. He was one of two players throughout the COVID-19 pandemic to spend the entire offseason rehabbing his injury, showing professionalism and toughness by playing at a Pro Bowl level in 2020.

Chubb, who was named a starter for his first Pro Bowl in 2020, was the only NFL player selected who participated in four or fewer games a season ago.

Selected by Denver fifth overall from North Carolina State University in the 2018 NFL Draft, Chubb has recorded 42 tackles (26 solo), 7.5 sacks (50 yds.), 19 quarterbacks hits, nine tackles for loss and one forced fumble in 14 games played. He ranked fourth in the NFL in total quarterback knockdowns and hurries (66) before missing Denver's Week 16 contest against the Los Angeles Chargers.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.

Details regarding the 43rd Ed Block Courage Awards recognizing recipients from each of the 32 NFL teams will be announced at a later date.


Table inside Article
1984Keith Bishop
1985Rulon Jones
1986Rubin Carter
1987Dennis Smith
1988Gerald Wilhite
1989Rick Dennison
1990Keith Kartz
1991John Elway
1992Dennis Smith
1993Simon Fletcher
1994Rondel Jones
1995Dave Wyman
1996Ed McCaffrey
1997Steve Atwater
1998Tony Jones
1999Rod Smith
2000John Mobley
2001Terrell Davis
2002Keith Burns
2003Tom Nalen
2004Dan Neil
2005Dwayne Carswell
2006Louis Green
2007John Engelberger
2008Marquand Manuel
2009Brian Dawkins
2010Ryan Clady
2011Elvis Dumervil
2012Chris Kuper
2013Knowshon Moreno
2014Chris Harris Jr.
2015Brandon Marshall/Danny Trevathan
2016Matt Paradis
2017Todd Davis
2018Jeff Heuerman
2019Andy Janovich
2020Bradley Chubb

Related Content