Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Ware named finalist for inaugural NFL Sportsmanship Award

See the best moments captured from Sunday's AFC West-sealing victory in sunny San Diego.

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. – Broncos defensive end DeMarcus Ware is one of eight finalists for the inaugural NFL Sportsmanship Award.

Each team nominated one player earlier this season, and the award looks to recognize players, "Who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field."

Thomas Davis (Panthers), Larry Fitzgerald (Cardinals), Chad Greenway (Vikings), Calvin Johnson (Lions), Troy Polamalu (Steelers), Matthew Slater (Patriots) and Alex Smith (Chiefs) are the other finalists.

Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Leonard Wheeler and former Bronco Karl Mecklenburg comprise the panel of former players who selected the eight finalists from the 32 nominees.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award, which will be distributed tocurrent players on Dec. 19. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote for the winner.

"The award will be presented annually to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition," the NFL said in a press release.

The winner will be announced during the "4th Annual NFL Honors" show on Jan. 31, and he will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.