Skip to main content

Denver Broncos | News

Sacco Sez: Terrell Davis' Hall of Fame entry cements 1997 offense's legend

A week ago, the Broncos' newest Pro Football Hall of Fame selectee paid a visit to his former team's headquarters.

Terrell Davis visited with fellow Hall of Famer John Elway while doing some pre-camp work for the NFL Network, in addition to catching up with old friends.

Recent Pro Football Hall of Fame electee and Broncos legend Terrell Davis stopped by minicamp practice Tuesday. (photos by Gabriel Christus unless noted)

His visit got me to thinking about where the Broncos' offensive team from Super Bowl XXXII ranks in number of Hall of Famers.

The answer, at least for the 20-year period following the 1997 world-championship season, is number one (tied with the 1999 Cowboys, who had Hall of Famers Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin and Larry Allen, but did not win the Super Bowl that year).

Denver's Hall of Famers who played on that team, all on offense, were quarterback John Elway, tight end Shannon Sharpe, left tackle Gary Zimmerman and, of course, running back Terrell Davis, who will be inducted in just a few weeks.

Looking at the other teams that have won Super Bowls since then, the Los Angeles Rams (Super Bowl XXXIV winners) have Marshall Faulk, Orlando Pace and Kurt Warner, all of whom were part of "The Greatest Show on Turf" offense.

The winners of Super Bowl XLI were the Indianapolis Colts, who thus far have placed Head Coach Tony Dungy and General Manager Bill Polian in the Hall, along with wide receiver Marvin Harrison, their only offensive player to be selected. The Colts will eventually add at least one more player to their list when quarterback Peyton Manning joins the Hall of Fame.

The New England Patriots have not yet had anyone selected for the Hall of Fame (aside from Junior Seau on defense), but it would appear that will take place after the appropriate waiting period.

And of the course the winners of the last eight Super Bowls do not have any Hall of Famers, primarily due to the fact that the greatest players either have not yet retired, or they have not been retired for five years.

And the Broncos still have very active candidates from their Super Bowl XXXII and XXXIII teams in the persons of owner Pat Bowlen and safety Steve Atwater, each of whom are very deserving of induction.

But for now, and looking strictly at the offensive units, the most-represented team of the last 20 years is Denver with four Hall of Famers, the most recent of whom stands alone among running backs in the Hall.

Davis is the only player in pro football history to have checked off all of the following boxes:

• NFL Most Valuable Player

• Super Bowl Most Valuable Player

• 2,000-yard rusher in a single season

• Seven consecutive playoff games with 100 yards rushing, all victories for his team

Upon his induction, Terrell Davis will be the only running back in the Hall of Fame to have accomplished each of those feats. Plus, he's third all time in rushing yards per game.

And he will be the fourth member of the 1997 and 1998 Denver Broncos offense to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, reinforcing the argument that the Broncos have one of the most talented offenses in recent history.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content