Denver Broncos | News

Von Miller to receive national 2019 Jefferson Award for Outstanding Public Service in Sports


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Denver Broncos outside linebacker Von Miller has been chosen to receive the 2019 Jefferson Award for Outstanding Public Service in Sports, it was announced on Tuesday by Multiplying Good Foundation's Board of Selectors.

The 2019 Jefferson Awards will be held on Tuesday, June 18, at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington D.C. Former Broncos linebacker DeMarcus Ware will serve as Miller's presenter.

The Jefferson Awards, which is in its 47th year and has become the nation's largest assembly of individuals committed to public service, was co-created by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Senator Robert Taft Jr. and Sam Beard in 1972.

"By providing a prestigious platform that recognizes outstanding, selfless acts of service, we motivate our award recipients to do more and we inspire others to take action in service to others, creating a ripple of good," said Hillary Schafer, Multiplying Good Foundation CEO. "The youth, grassroots, corporations, and notable national award recipients who join us at the D.C. Jefferson Awards represent the very best of our country, people who have dedicated themselves to serving others. By bringing them together and elevating their work, we inspire communities nationwide."

Miller, a seven-time Pro Bowl and All-Pro selection, is entering his ninth season with the Denver Broncos in 2019. In addition to enjoying unparalleled success on the field, Miller — the Broncos' 2018 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year nominee — has grown into an incredibly impactful leader in the Denver community.

Miller founded Von's Vision in 2012 with the goal of providing low-income children with vision care and eye exams while serving as an eye-glasses wearing role model. Since it's inception, Miller has raised more than $4.5 million dollars for Von's Vision.

Voted by his teammates as a captain in each of the last two seasons, Miller has twice been named the NFL Players Association Community MVP (Week. 17, 2017; Week. 13, 2018) and was chosen as one of five finalists for the Byron "Whizzer" White Community MVP Award in 2017.

Past Jefferson Award recipients include Chris Long (2018), Shaquille O'Neal (2018), Joe Torre (2017), Mariano Rivera (2014), Troy Vincent (2012) and Peyton Manning (2006).

To purchase tickets for the Jefferson Awards or to learn more about Multiplying Good and this year's honorees, please visit

Related Content