On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Karl Mecklenburg, John Lynch, Steve Atwater among Pro Football Hall of Fame modern-era semifinalists

Posted Nov 21, 2017

Could one of these former Broncos join John Elway, Floyd Little, Gary Zimmerman, Shannon Sharpe and Terrell Davis in the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

Five former players with Broncos ties were among the 25 modern-era semifinalists named Tuesday for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018.

Three Ring of Famers — linebacker Karl Mecklenburg and safeties John Lynch and Steve Atwater — made the Hall of Fame’s cut from 108 candidates to 26.

Brian Dawkins and Ty Law, who spent three seasons and one season, respectively, with the Broncos, were also selected.

Lynch, who was both the Broncos’ Ring of Fame and the Buccaneers’ Ring of Honor in 2017, was selected as a finalist for the fourth time last year, while Atwater first became a finalist in 2016.

The Hall of Fame will pare its list to 15 finalists in January, and then those former players and coaches will wait for a knock on their hotel-room door from Hall of Fame President David Baker.

Terrell Davis became the Broncos’ fifth Hall of Famer when he received the knock in February of 2017.