On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Broncos Release Six

Posted Feb 16, 2009

On Monday, the Broncos announced the release of six players, including linebacker Jamie Winborn.

Nate Jackson was one of six players released by the Broncos. PHOTO: ERIC LARS BAKKE

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. -- The Broncos on Monday announced the release of the following six players: John Engelberger, Nate Jackson, Niko Koutouvides, Marquand Manuel, DeWayne Robertson and Jamie Winborn.

Engelberger started six games for the Broncos in 2008, recording 51 tackles, and had spent the previous three seasons with the club. He began his career with the San Francisco 49ers.

2008 was Jackson's fifth year in the NFL, having spent every season with the Broncos. He started three games in place of the injured Tony Scheffler and caught 11 passes before being placed on injured reserve on November 20.

Koutouvides was a first-year Bronco after spending four seasons with the Seattle Seahawks. He saw action in 14 games in 2008, playing mostly on special teams.

Manuel was also a first-year Bronco after having played for the Bengals, Seahawks, Packers and Panthers. He started 14 games at strong safety for the Broncos in 2008.

Robertson joined the Broncos via trade with the New York Jets on April 24, 2008 and started 15 games at defensive tackle. He spent the first five years of his career with New York.

2008 marked Winborn's eighth year in the league and second with the Broncos. He started 11 games at linebacker after Boss Bailey suffered a season-ending injury.